Some Events in the History of the Rural Sociological Society

December 1937	The Rural Sociological Society of America is formed out of the American Sociological Society's Section on Rural Sociology with a provisional constitution. Dwight Sanderson elected first president. The journal <i>Rural Sociology</i> is made the official publication of the Society (<i>Rural Sociology</i> established December 1935, 1 st issue published March 1936). Membership = 71 members .
December 1938	Permanent constitution is voted in using the current name of the Rural Sociological Society . Mary Eva Duthie is first woman to chair a standing committee of the RSS (Committee on Extension). RSS Membership = 303 .
1942	Only year RSS did not hold a national conference (many professional organizations cancelled conferences due to war-related restrictions).
1950	Robert Polson is the first person employed in an Extension position to be elected President of RSS (1950-1951).
1955	Margaret Jarman Hagood is the first woman elected President of RSS (1955-1956).
1962	RSS changes constitution and governance to the current Council and standing committees structure.
1964	The First World Congress of Rural Sociology is held, organized by The Committee for International Cooperation in Rural Sociology with representatives from both RSS and the European Society for Rural Sociology (ESRS). The International Rural Sociology Association (IRSA) is formed in 1976. Glenn Fuguitt is first president.
1964	One of several informal 'research committees' within RSS, the group that becomes the Natural Resource Research Group (NRRG) is established and leads to forming similar groups in both the ASA and SSSP.
1973	First issue of NEWSLINE is published. It is the first formal newsletter of the Society. Don Crider is editor.
1976	Informal research committees within RSS are given formal recognition and a new name: Research Groups.
1980	RSS changes constitution so that committee leadership positions are titled "chair" instead of "chairman."
1980	NEWSLINE become The Rural Sociologist (TRS). Will Goudy is editor.
1981	Decision announced to replace the RSS Monograph Series with the newly created Rural Studies Series.
1985	Rural Sociology celebrates its 50 th volume.
1987	The RSS celebrates its 50 th Anniversary in Madison Wisconsin. August 11-15, 1987.
1988	The National Agriculture Library includes <i>The Rural Sociologist</i> in its holdings ensuring long term public access to the publication.
1989	First proposal that the RSS Membership Directory include email addresses is made at the 1988-1989 mid-year Council meeting (called "bitnet" addresses at that time).
1990	The RSS Taskforce on Persistent Rural Poverty , chaired by Gene Summers, is announced. <i>Persistent Poverty in Rural America</i> is published in 1993.
1996	RSS announces its first organizational website . Designed by Charles Tolbert and Len Bloomquist at Louisiana State University , it was hosted at the LSU Population Center.
1997	Diversity Committee moved from ad hoc to a standing committee of RSS.
1998	First person to use the newly created membership category "Lifetime Member" is announced.
1999	Ann Tickamyer is the first woman to serve as editor of the journal Rural Sociology (1999-2002).
2001	Ken Pigg appointed under new business model (professional managerial approach) to oversee the RSS.
2006	First issue of <i>Rural Realities</i> is published: "At the Razor's Edge: Building Hope for America's Rural Poor" written by Leif Jensen.
2008	Newest research/interest group is formed: Rural Studies RIG . Sociology of Agriculture and Food Research Interest Group (SAFRIG) celebrates it's 30th anniversary.
2009	Ralph Brown appointed first RSS Executive Director , further moving the RSS business structure to a professional managerial model.
2012	RSS celebrates 75 th Anniversary.